Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Two EEB members win first plant biology postdoc honors

Nate Emery and Ash Zemenick were the winners of the first Plant Biology Outstanding Postdoctoral Award.

Emery and Zemenick were chosen for their overall contributions to research, innovation, mentoring, teaching, and university/community service during their tenure as research associates in the Department of Plant Biology (PLB) in the College of Natural Science.

Ash Zemenick and Nate Emery
Ash Zemenick and Nate Emery

“We are lucky to have these outstanding postdoctoral researchers in our department” said department chair Jiming Jiang. “They are the keys to many of the important scientific discoveries made by our department and we greatly appreciate all they do.”

An awards ceremony was held Oct. 14.

These awards are to be given annually and carry a $500 monetary reward and a plaque. The selection committee consisted of two PLB faculty members and two PLB postdoctoral scholars

The winners are mentored by EEB core faculty. Emery is mentored by PLB University Distinguished Professor Diane Ebert-May and Associate Professor David Lowry.

“I am very honored and grateful for this award and it means a lot to have my work recognized by my peers,” said Emery. “Plant Biology has been an incredibly welcoming and supportive home for me - from my advisors, Diane and David, to faculty collaborators, PLB staff, fellow postdocs, grad students, technicians, and students.”

Zemenick is mentored by PLB Associate Professor Marjorie Weber.

“I'm so honored to receive the first Plant Biology Postdoc Award alongside Nate Emery who is a great mentor and colleague,” said Zemenick.  “I have loved working as a PLB postdoc where I have been supported in exploring primary research and also education-based research with the goal of making biology more inclusive and diverse.”

Applications for the next round of awards will be open in spring 2022.

See the story on the plant biology department page.