Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Three EEB grad students named NSF-GRFP fellows

Three PhD students from EEB were among 25 MSU recipients named 2023 fellows of the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP).

The program is the country’s oldest graduate fellowship program that supports graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees.

Brandon Kristy
Brandon Kristy

NSF Graduate Research Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $37,000, along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees (paid to the institution), opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose. This year, a total of 2,552 applicants were awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.

EEB fellows, all in the College of Natural Science, are:

  • Brandon Kristy, Ph.D. student majoring in integrative biology. He is advised by Sarah Evans.
  • Sylvie Ann Martin-Eberhardt, Ph.D. student majoring in plant biology and ecology, evolution, and behavior. She is supervised by Marjorie Weber and Kadeem Gilbert.
  • Nasser Mohammed, Ph.D. student majoring in integrative biology. He is advised by Chris Klausmeier.
Nasser Mohammed
Nasser Mohammed

Student success is central to the mission of MSU, and the accomplishments of our graduate students represent excellence in research, collaboration, and mentoring," said Pero G. Dagbovie, dean of the Graduate School and associate provost for graduate and postdoctoral studies. “It's a great honor to see so many of our talented graduate students receive Graduate Research Fellowships. The Graduate School team extends an enthusiastic congratulations to all the recipients and honorable mentions from MSU.”

Sylvie Martin-Eberhardt
Sylvie Martin-Eberhardt

For a complete list of all MSU 2023 NSF GRF recipients, visit https://nifs.msu.edu/news/2023-NSF-GRFP-Awardees.html