Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Shin-Han Shiu one of five MSU faculty named AAAS Fellow

On Jan. 31, Michigan State University professor in the Department of Plant Biology in the College of Natural Science and EEB core faculty member Shin-Han Shiu is to be recognized as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, or AAAS.

He joins MSU's Evangelyn AlociljaAndrea CaseJames Fairweather and William Lovis.

Founded in 1848, AAAS — which is pronounced “triple-A-S” — is the world’s largest general scientific society. In 1874, the society started recognizing distinguished individuals as fellows for their contributions to science and society.

Shiu was selected as a fellow in agriculture, food and renewable resources for distinguished

Shin-Han Shiu
Shin-Han Shiu

contributions to plant genome evolution, particularly for developing and using artificial intelligence approaches.

“This honor inspires me to further pursue my interests in solving new scientific problems in a highly rewarding working environment created by my students, colleagues, mentors and families,” Shiu said.

MSU’s 2022 fellows represent five colleges and have been selected for advancing a breadth of research in areas that include education, plant biology, evolutionary ecology, anthropological archaeology and low-cost sensing technology for health care and food safety.

“I am proud to join AAAS in recognizing MSU’s researchers not only for their excellence in the classroom and laboratory, but also in shaping the way we teach and perform science to make it more accessible, impactful and inclusive,” said Interim President Teresa K. Woodruff, Ph.D. “I congratulate our new fellows for this recognition and extend my appreciation for their embodiment of our shared values as they prepare the next generation of leaders and innovators.”

In total, this year’s cohort includes more than 500 trailblazers worldwide in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM. The related acronym STEMM, where the additional M stands for medicine, also appears in this year’s honors.

Past honorees include actor and science communicator Alan Alda, Nobel laureate and former U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu and engineer Mae Jemison, the first Black woman to travel to space.

“Becoming a AAAS Fellow is among the most distinct honors within the scientific community,” the society said. “The AAAS Council elects its fellows deliberately and carefully to preserve the honor attached to this recognition.”

Read the full story in MSU Today.