Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

2 from EEB named to American Academy of Microbiology


Christopher Waters in the lab

The American Academy of Microbiology elected EEB's Christopher Waters of microbiology

and molecular genetics and EEB alumnus Vaughn Cooper of IBIO (or zoology as it was back in 2000) as fellows to the class of 2022.

Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, an honorific leadership group and a think tank within the American Society of Microbiology, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. 

Waters' research examines microbial evolution, cell signaling, and new antimicrobial compounds.

Portrait of Vaughn Cooper

Cooper, who received his PhD studying with Richard Lenski, is now a professor at the University of Pittsburgh, where he studies the evolution, ecology, and genome dynamics of microbial populations.

The Academy received 130 nominations this year and elected 65 into the 2022 Fellowship Class.

There are over 2,600 fellows in the Academy representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. In addition, Fellows hail from all around the globe. The Class of 2022 is a diverse class and represents fellows from 10 different countries, including Australia, Canada, China (Mainland), Germany, Israel, Japan, Portugal, Switzerland, the U.K. and the U.S.

See the full list of 2022 fellows in The American Society for Microbiology.